e3_7_1_1a_numismatics.gif (5375 bytes)Vessels Of Time 40.jpg (2530 bytes)  


Coins From The Byzantine Empire

The Byzantine Empire also known as the Eastern Roman Empire was centered around the capitol of Constantinople. It was ruled by emperors in direct succession to the ancient Roman Emperors after the collapse of the Western Roman Empire. The exact date of this separation can not be precisely given.

The Byzantine Empire existed for more then a thousand years, approximately 306 A.D. to 1453 A.D.

Though the people called themselves Romans they were predominantly Greek-speaking.

The Byzantine - Ottoman Wars would be the end of the empire in the 15th century when Constantinople fell and the remaining territories came under the control of the Muslim Ottoman Empire.


Below you will find links too the coins of various Byzantine Emperors

Click on the link to move to the desired page.

  2. Arab Byzantine
  3. Heraclius
  4. Justin I
  5. Justin II
  6. Justinian I
  7. Maurice Tiberius
  8. Manuel I
  9. Tiberius II Constantine
  10. Constans II
  11. Anonymous Coins
  12. John II
  13. Alexius I
  14.  Phocas
  15.  Nicephorus III


BARGAINS   Here you can find some bargains priced coins.

Unidentified Coins  Here you can find unidentified coins.

 COINS sold page 1           page 2    Page 3   Coins already sold





Hit Counter